Teen Driving Accidents in Seguin

The newly acquired independence of obtaining a driver’s license for teenagers is an exciting time for most. However, car crashes are among the leading causes of life-threatening or fatal injuries among teenagers. Therefore, the state traffic regulations place additional restrictions on those under 18, and strict guidelines exist for those driving with learner permits.

Monitoring and promoting safe habits behind the wheel is also essential for parents. If you were in an accident and suffered injuries and losses because of a teenage motorist, you have every right to seek damages through legal action. For more information, speak to a hard-working lawyer skilled with cases resulting from teen driving accidents in Seguin.

The Risk of Teen Driver Crashes

Even the most responsible teenage motorists lack the experience of other adult drivers. They are much more likely to make judgment errors or mistakes that lead to collisions with other drivers. Young drivers are also more likely to make careless and often reckless mistakes behind the wheel. Unfortunately, auto collisions are the leading cause of severe injuries and death for teenagers in the United States.

According to the studies completed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, motorists under 20 years of age are at a much higher risk of being involved in fatal crashes. When young and inexperienced drivers cause motor vehicle wrecks, those involved have the right to hold them financially responsible.

Because teenagers are at a high risk of causing life-altering collisions, state laws require them to complete certain steps—including obtaining a learner permit and provisional license—before they can apply for their permanent license. An attorney seasoned in cases involving teen driving crashes in Seguin can investigate to determine liability and help collect a fair settlement.

Learner Permit and Provisional License

Teens aged 15 and up may apply for a learner permit and must complete one of the available driver education courses. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, there are four different courses to choose from, including:

  • Parent-taught driver education, also called PTDE
  • Public school driver education course
  • In-person driver education course offered by a certified training school
  • Virtual driver education course completed online provided by an accredited training school

In addition to completing the course, they must have the learner permit for at least six months and pass a written test before obtaining their provisional license.

Provisional License Restrictions

After completing the learner permit requirements, teenagers over 16 can apply for their provisional driver’s license. While they can operate motor vehicles without an adult supervising them, they must adhere to specific legal requirements, including:

  • Restricted nighttime driving hours unless they need to drive to or from work or for medical emergencies
  • They may not have more than one passenger in the vehicle under 21 years old
  • Traffic regulations prohibit the use of handheld or hands-free communication devices except for emergencies

Parents and guardians must ensure their minor children complete each step as necessary and comply with traffic safety rules and regulations. Civil laws in Texas may hold motorists and their parents financially liable when Seguin teen driving accidents happen because they failed to ensure their child adhered to the regulations.

Contact a Seguin Attorney After Being Involved in a Collision With a Teen Driver

While many new teenage drivers are responsible and comply with the rules, they still lack the experience of other drivers. Younger motorists are also more likely to make reckless mistakes.

You could be eligible for compensation to cover your losses if a negligent teenager caused an avoidable crash. Schedule a consultation with an experienced lawyer for help with a case resulting from a teen driving accident in Seguin.

Free Consultations. Schedule Today!